Muesli Protein Bars

I normally stay away from protein bars, the list of ingredients and preservatives is way too long for me. However, I am seeing that people are making their own protein bars…so of course, I had to give it a go.

muesli

I looked at several recipes but didn’t want to buy a hundred and one ingredients. I have this big bag of Bob’s Red Mill Muesli. I love this stuff 😀  If you haven’t had this muesli it’s a mixture of whole grains wheat, rye, barley, oats, dates, sunflower seeds, raisins, flaxseed, almonds and walnuts. Everything I need in one bag…this is what I came up with 😀

muesli protein bars

Muesli Protein Bars

Ingredients:

2 cups Bob’s Red Mill Muesli

1/2 cup old fashioned oats

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup protein powder

1/2 tsp cinnamon

1 1/2 cup fat-free Greek Yogurt ( I use 0% Fage)

1 tsp vanilla extract

 

Directions:

In a large bowl add muesli, oats, flour, cinnamon,  and protein powder, mix well to combine.

In a small bowl add yogurt and vanilla extract and stir until throughly combined.

Add the yogurt to the dry mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until mix is combined and moistened.

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Coat a 9×13 pan with cooking spray. Use a piece of wax paper to press the dough into an even layer.

Bake 20-22 minutes.

While bars are still warm cut into 2 x 3 inch squares. Keep in sealed container to maintain freshness.

protein_bars

I used chocolate flavored protein powder. I think the  cinnamon was key to increasing the flavor. They are really filling and I love that they have no added fat or sugar 😀

18 thoughts on “Muesli Protein Bars

  1. Hey Cindy, can you estimated how many calories are in each bar for me and what brand of protein powder are you using? If the calories are just right, this can be another breakfast idea for my wife as she is a breakfast on the go type person.

Leave a Reply

