Zero Calorie Drink

I am a big water drinker. I start the morning by filling my 24 oz Tervis cup full of water. I take this cup with me pretty much everywhere I go. Once it is empty, I fill it right back up (4-5 times a day). I try to drink as much water as I can, so much so that I rarely drink anything but water (ok, I do have my morning coffee) 🙂  Hydration is very important for me…I’m still adjusting to living at a higher elevation and I workout regularly.

Water

Water

Our perfect zero calorie drink. It quenches our thirst, regulates body temperature, lubricates body tissues and joints, and transports nutrients throughout our body. Water is also important for maintaining blood volume and blood pressure.

When I feel thirsty, I reach for water. Thirst is the perceived need for water, but really a symptom of dehydration. The hypothalamus is our control center for thirst. When our hypothalamus sends a signal for thirst that means that we are already slightly dehydrated.

Symptoms of Dehydration

1-2% loss causes thirst, fatigue and slight weakness

3-4% loss causes reduction in power and endurance

5-6% loss causes headaches, lack of focus and concentration

7-10% loss causes dizziness, poor balance, muscle spasms

Factors Effecting Fluid Loss

High Altitude

Temperature

Degree of Sweating

Workout Duration and Intensity

Fluid Intake Recommendations

In general it is recommended for adults to consume 8 cups of water daily, but water needs vary among individuals. If you are very active you may need more to cover water loss from sweating.

One easy way monitor adequate fluid intake is your urine. If you are drinking enough your urine will be light in color. If you are getting up in the middle of the night to use the bathroom, you probably getting enough water. 😀

If you workout you can estimate your sweat loss by measuring the difference between body weight before and after your workout.

Athletes & Water Consumption

  • Drink fluids throughout the day, do not rely on thirst to drink
  • 2-3 hrs prior to workout drink 2-20 oz of water
  • During workout consume 6-12 oz for every 15-20 minutes of exercise
  • After workout consume as much as needed to meet sweat loss
    • Larger athletes may need to consume more water than listed to prevent dehydration

Water Content of Foods

Water Content for Selected Foods

Percentage              Food item

100%                            Water

90–99%                        Watermelon, Tomatoes, Lettuce

80–89%                       Oranges, Apple juice, Milk

70–79%                        Potatoes, Bananas, Chicken

——-

Drinking water isn’t the only way to get fluids we need. The foods we eat contribute to the water we need. Soups, yogurts, fruits, and vegetables contain varying percentages of water. So…Eat, Drink and Stay Hydrated.

Do you drink water before you get thirsty or wait until you are thirsty?

Source:
Wildman, R., Miller, B. (2004) Sports and Fitness Nutrition. Water, Hydration and Exercise 227-249
6 thoughts on “Zero Calorie Drink

  1. Cute water bottle! I rarely drink anything but water too…and tea! During meals, I always have water and tea, but I do need to get better at drinking more water throughout the day! I use to withhold from drinking too much water at work so I wouldn’t need to run to the bathroom so frequently, but I was definitely feeling too tired when I did that. There’s nothing like water to keep you hydrated and energized! 🙂 I can’t wait for the summer to eat watermelon- I love that watermelon has a high water content that is perfect for hot days!

    • I would try not drink water at school, it was so hard to leave the classroom before the students came in. By the end of the day, I had a headache, was tired, and so dehydrated.

  2. Most likely I run around with my pink bottle, like you 🙂 But it happened sometimes, specially in winter time, that I don’t feel thirsty – then I only have 1 L (30 oz) of it 😦 I had no idea that concentration is falling because of that! Plus morning coffee rules! 🙂

    • I would do the same. I would make sure to drink plenty in the summer because it is hot but I have to make a bigger effort in the winter. Now, I just drink plenty all the time because I get dehydrated very quickly…then come the headaches

      • Summers aren’t problematic – I am thirsty because of high temperatures already. I don’t really have problems with headaches but concentration is. Never thought about that correlation between.

  3. Pingback: The Best Workout Foods | BlackDoctor | Habari Gani, America!

Leave a Reply

