Black Bean Cakes with Mango Salsa

I consider myself a sensory eater. Food has to look, smell and taste good for me to want to eat it. I have a serious issue with the way certain things smell. I stopped eating beef and eggs because of the way they smell. Growing up in Texas we had lots of farmers market that sold Mangos. I can appreciate this now but as a kid…ugh, I could not stand the smell of mangos, so I wouldn’t consider tasting them.  A few years ago, I gave mangos a try and I can’t believe what I have been missing! These beautiful golden-colored fruits are delicious! Now, I’m totally addicted, so much so that I’m looking for things to make with mango or to eat along with a mango. Here are some  black bean cakes I made to go along with the mango…

Mango salsa

Black Beans

Black beans have a high fiber content, and they are a great source of protein, calcium, iron, folic acid, and potassium. Black beans contain at least eight different flavonoids, which are antioxidants.  Anthocyanins in black beans act as antioxidants and anti-inflammatory agents, helping to prevent chronic diseases, such as heart disease.  Black beans also contain small amounts of omega-3 alpha-linolenic acid (ALA) fats.

Mangos

Not only are mangos a burst of tropical flavor they are loaded with antioxidants, vitamins, minerals and fiber. Mangos are a great source of vitamins C and A, both work as antioxidants in our body. Vitamin C promotes wound healing and collagen formation. Vitamin A is important for healthy eyes, skin, hair, teeth and gums.

Mangos are a good source of dietary fiber. Diets high in fiber are associated with a maintaining a healthy digestive system and lower cholesterol levels.

mango nutrition

Black Bean Cakes with Mango Salsa

Black Bean Cakes with Mango Salsa

Adapted from Cuisine at Home

Ingredients:

[For Cakes]

1 (15 oz) can Black Beans, rinsed and drained
2 tbsp plain greek yogurt
1/4 cup tortilla chips, crushed
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tbsp onion, minced
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
1 tsp fresh lime juice

[For Salsa]

1 ripe mango, peeled and diced
1 small jalapeño, minced
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped
3 Tbsp fresh lime juice
1/4 tsp kosher salt

Directions:

Mash 1/2 cup of beans with yogurt until smooth. Add in all ingredients and mix to combine.

Using a 3-4 inch ring mold shape bean mixture into cakes.

Heat a little oil in a nonstick skillet over medium heat. Cook each side for 4 minutes.

For the salsa, combine mangoes, jalapeño, cilantro, lime juice, and salt. Let sit 20 to 30 minutes.

Top cakes with mango salsa and serve.

Black Bean Cakes

The cakes are full of freshness and flavor, the chips add a nice crunchy crust.  I’ve used Way Better Multi-Grain Tortilla chips and Tostito’s Hint of Lime chips to make these, both add great flavor.

Sources:
http://www.mango.org/nutrition-professionals/nutrition-messages
7 thoughts on “Black Bean Cakes with Mango Salsa

  1. These look beautiful! I like mangos quite a bit, but I like champagne mangos even better. I had never even heard of them until a few weeks ago when I came across them at a local market. They were so delicious!

  2. Pingback: Black Bean Salsa- SRC Post! | Beautiful Disasters

Leave a Reply

