Types of Vegetarians

What is a vegetarian? We have this talk a lot in my house. My daughter is a self-proclaimed vegetarian. I think that is her way of getting out of eating her dinner 🙂 When someone says they are a vegetarian I always ask which type, many adults can’t define the term.  With more than a few types, it’s easy to understand the confusion. Here’s a guide to help you understand the variety of  vegetarians.

VEGETARIANS

Vegan:

Does not consume, use, or wear any animal product or by-product.

Foods excluded from a vegan diet include honey, dairy products, and eggs.

Vegetarian:

Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, and consumes no meat processing by-products such as gelatin.

Lacto- Vegetarian:

Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, but does eat dairy products.

Ovo- Vegetarian:

Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, but does consume eggs.

Lacto-Ovo- Vegetarian:

Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, but does eat dairy products and eggs.

Pesco-Vegetarian:

Eats no meat or poultry, but does consume fish and seafood.

Fruitarian:

Consumes only raw or dried fruit and fruit vegetables such as tomatoes.

Also eats nuts, seeds, and such non-sweet fruits as cucumbers, olives, and avocados.

Flexitarian or Semi- Vegetarian:

Consumes mostly vegetarian foods with an occasional serving of meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.

Lacto-Ovo Vegetarians are probably the largest group of vegetarians.

Are you a vegetarian, if so… which type are you?

8 thoughts on “Types of Vegetarians

  1. Cindy thank you for sharing that, but won’t be easy to remember all these definitions 😉 Usually I’d explain I don’t eat animals, but now I can tell for sure I am 1Lacto-1/2Ovo-1Vegetarian 😀

  2. I loved being lacto-ovo for several years, but I feel that for me, being flexitarian is better for my health. Others might work with a vegan diet, but it’s not for me. Seems like each person and their metabolism are different. Those pictures of fruits and veggies are making me crave a salad, LOL. 🙂

Leave a Reply

