What is a vegetarian? We have this talk a lot in my house. My daughter is a self-proclaimed vegetarian. I think that is her way of getting out of eating her dinner 🙂 When someone says they are a vegetarian I always ask which type, many adults can’t define the term. With more than a few types, it’s easy to understand the confusion. Here’s a guide to help you understand the variety of vegetarians.
Does not consume, use, or wear any animal product or by-product.
Foods excluded from a vegan diet include honey, dairy products, and eggs.
Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, and consumes no meat processing by-products such as gelatin.
Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, but does eat dairy products.
Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, but does consume eggs.
Eats no meat, fish, or poultry, but does eat dairy products and eggs.
Eats no meat or poultry, but does consume fish and seafood.
Consumes only raw or dried fruit and fruit vegetables such as tomatoes.
Also eats nuts, seeds, and such non-sweet fruits as cucumbers, olives, and avocados.
Flexitarian or Semi- Vegetarian:
Consumes mostly vegetarian foods with an occasional serving of meat, poultry, fish, or seafood.
Lacto-Ovo Vegetarians are probably the largest group of vegetarians.
Are you a vegetarian, if so… which type are you?